Kaji – 2010

kaji sushi
A long-delayed post from me, this post was actually from almost 2 years ago in 2010 at Kaji but since I took these photos with my SLR, I thought I should share them. Kaji also had a recent renovation in summer 2012 so the decor in these photos are different if you were to go now.
My first visit at Kaji was with my family when I was younger but I clearly remember how it was the best sushi I have ever had back then! And till today, I still concur! Prices are on the expensive side where they have a prix fix menu from $80 to $120; omakase is offered. It basically means “I’ll leave it up to you” where the chef decides the meal for you based on what’s good and fresh that day.

This place is scrumptious! Each dish are so eloquently crafted and I enjoyed every bite.

Note: this post will have more photos than words. :)

kaji sushi

The art at the sushi bar. It reads “One fish One Meet”. I think it represents that each customer’s visit may be their first and you only have one chance to impress them; make it a great first impression.

kaji sushi
kaji sushi

My friend and I each ordered the Takumi $120 and Wasa $100 menu so we can try out more dishes.

For the takumi menu, it started off with the Roasted Duck
kaji sushikaji sushi

For the wasa menu, it was Trout in 3 ways – smoked trout presented in 3 different sauces
kaji sushi
kaji sushi

TakumiMarinated Crab wrapped in Egg Crepe
kaji sushikaji sushi

Wasachicken sakamushi & stuffed tomato
kaji sushi
kaji sushi

Takumiassorted appetizer plate - fried and baked scallop with shrimp tempura
kaji sushi
kaji sushi

Both Takumi and Wasa came with Sashimi. Every piece was so fresh and scrumptious!!
kaji sushi
kaji sushikaji sushi

TakumiButter Squash Soup with Satsuma Cake
kaji sushi

Wasa - Corn Soup with Scallop and Shrimp Cake
kaji sushi

TakumiDeep fried Kinki Fish with Radish sauce
kaji sushi

TakumiGrilled Scampi Shrimp/ Hosho Style
kaji sushi

WasaGrilled Yellow Tail
kaji sushi

The preparation of our sushis coming up!

kaji sushi

Takumi + WasaSushi. First we were plated with the raw fishes then the cooked ones in a chinese soup spoon.  Oh and i have to mention that they make wasabi FRESH! The chef garnished the wasabi in front of us to go with our sashimis and sushis. He also kindly told us which pieces will not require soya sauce and it’s best to have it on its own. :)
kaji sushikaji sushikaji sushi

kaji sushikaji sushi

The piece with some mayo on it is hamachi. Super good and fattening! It melts in your mouth!

kaji sushikaji sushi

Takumi + WasaSoup - miso soup made from the fish that was served throughout the night.

kaji sushi

Dessert
kaji sushi
kaji sushi

Expensive but it’s a must-try in a life time. Some doesn’t think it’s worth the money but hey..it’s an experience. I have to say that my first visit when I was young was still the best… but that could have been because at that age, I haven’t really had “super duper good” food. :) I really liked it and I hope you`ll enjoy your visit there too. Cheers!

Sushi Kaji Restaurant
www.sushikaji.com/top.html
860 The Queensway Toronto, ON M8Z 1N7
(416) 252-2166

Kaji on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

