Raijin


Raijin is another ramen shop that opened in downtown Toronto recently. It is actually opened by one of the chefs of Yours Truly and Daiji Matsubara who is known for his Vancouver ramen emporiums.

I came here on a Thursday for lunch and there was no line up compared to their competitors (yay!). Raijin is spacious and everyone can seat more comfortably than the other noodle joints.


Menu is just like others with the typical tonkotsu (pork bone), shio, shoyu or miso broth. I ordered the shio to be consistent for comparison. The noodles were quite normal. I still find the other noodle places better. My broth was on the bland side when it’s supposed to be shio (salty) flavour already and I overheard the girl next to me who said hers was really salty. Inconsistent? My friend ordered the spicy miso ramen and still, it was rather bland.

Nounnoukou Tonkotsu Shio Ramen $9.50
pork shoulder, green onion, carola flower, black fungus, cabbage, seasoned soft boiled egg and housemade black oil

Noukou Tonkotsu Spicy Miso Ramen ($10.50)
pork shoulder, green onion, bean sprouts, cabbage, corn and house made chili oil. He said it wasn’t spicy at all.

I think the broth is really the key to ramens and although I don’t really like salty or flavorful things, I still think the broth can be better. Egg and pork belly weren’t the best either. Big slices but I think the quality overall could have been better.

All-in-all, I was a bit disappointed by Raijin while one of the chefs/owners is so well-known in Vancouver. With so many other ramen options around Toronto, I don’t think I’ll be back too often. Back to the “sans” for me. :)

Ramen Raijin on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

