The Chase

the chase torontothe chase toronto
Another corporate fine-dining restaurant opened up near Eaton’s/ Financial District of Downtown Toronto — The Chase (@TheChaseTO). Quoted from Amy on Toronto Star, “This is not a place for the Average Joe. It’s for the Average Joe’s rich cousin’s broker.”
Full article here.

My friend and I really wanted to try their rooftop patio so we waited for a clear sky night to try it out. Apparently their patio is not for reservations and it’s a first-come-first-serve but we still made a reservation for dinner just in case we don’t get a seat at the patio. I got there around 5:30PM after work to find it full already!
So we just grabbed a drink and waited by the bar until there’s an empty table for 2. I got a Caesar for almost $15!
The hostess knew that we made a reservation and was aware that we really wanted to sit at the rooftop patio then kindly informed us that a table will be leaving soon and she’ll reserve the table for us. :) After about 30-40 minutes of wait, we finally got seated! Although, it was a bit chilly, we sat close to a fire heater and watched the sky slowly dim as we enjoyed our dinner.
the chase toronto
the chase toronto

We started with complimentary Truffled Focaccia. Heavy…but it was so good!
the chase toronto focaccia

My friend ordered the Pearl Platter ($26).
With oysters, crab, tuna, shrimp & salmon. I tried an oyster and it was tasty! My friend mentioned that it was all good and fresh. I wished I had gotten that as my appetizer.
the chase toronto pearl platter

I got the Salmon ($30), pan roasted with warm bread salad, heirloom tomatoes and zucchini relis. It was good but I won’t say spectacular. Would have prefered getting something else instead. boo.
the chase toronto salmon

Verdict – it was a good experience. You pay more due to the view and service. Definitely a mean for “an average joe’s rich cousin’s broker”. I may consider coming back to try their THE CHASE FISH & OYSTERS which is at the lower level with a least expensive (still pricey) menu and without the view. I wonder what they will do with the patio when it starts snowing.

Sidenote… I was telling a friend about THE CHASE and he mentioned that if I had paid a little bit more, I could have enjoyed an even better view/experience at the 360 Restaurant up at CN Tower. :p True that!

The Chase
10 Temperance Street
Toronto, ON M5H 1Y4
(647) 348-7000
www.thechasetoronto.com

The Chase on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

