Guu Izakaya visit #5

Guu Izakaya
398 Church Street
Toronto, ON M5B 2A2
http://www.guu-izakaya.com/toronto.html

Visited: January 2011

After a bit more than a year of grand opening from Guu Izakaya, this is probably my 5th time visiting. Love it still! Nothing really different from what I’ve ordered from my previous posts aside from the Maguro (below).  Brought my friend here who has never tried after hearing so much buzz about it. As usual, there’s a wait. Waited for approximately 1.5 hour on a Friday 7PM night.

Had to let my “friend” try 1 of my favourite dishes, Salmon 7 frd – Chopped salmon sashimi with Natto, shibazuke, takuan, wonton chips, garlic chips, green onion and raw egg yolk then wrapped in nori seaweed.
It was delicious as usual! (no pic taken this time but pictures from previous posts)

Calamari (ikapiri) – Deep fried calamari with spicy ketchup and wasabi mayo

Loved the spicy ketchup + wasabi mayo! I also noticed that Guu’s dishes have gotten smaller and smaller (indirectly increasing the price)!!

Enoki

This skewer was pretty good. Very flavourful and seasoned.

Zine maguro

This maguro was on the daily special menu. My friend’s favourite out of all the dishes. I would have to agree as well since the sauce was so good and the maguro was cut up in cubes rather than rectangulars that gave it a bit more mouthful taste and texture.

Kimchi udon

I normally don’t like Guu’s udon but this time and this particular one was actually pretty good!

Aburi salmon

This was my second favourite! Sashimi was very fresh and I liked the sauce with it!

Yums! ❤ Never sick of guu!

Other Guu Experiences:
Guu #1 (Dec. 2009),
Guu #2 (Feb. 2010),
Guu #3 (June 2010)

Leave a Reply

