Santouka Ramen

Santouka had their soft opening just about 1.5 week ago. I went on last Thursday afternoon for lunch and there was already a few people ahead of me. Luckily, I got to stand inside to wait; it was approximately 10-15 minutes waiting time. Not so bad!

Santouka is a nicely squared place compared to Kinton or Sansotei’s narrow set-up; meaning more seats and walking space. The theme was mainly wooden tables and black lined ceilings. They have dangling big light bulbs hanging from the ceiling, similar to Guu.


Upon seated, the waitress gave me their 5-page menu and instructed that only certain pages were offered as it’s still their soft launch. My friend who went a few days after me over the weekend was offered their full menu already!!!! Hence, I’ll be there again later on this week to try their combos and side dishes. 😀

For this visit, I ordered the Shio Ramen which was highly recommended and that I can have a fair comparison with other ramen places. The waitress took my order with your iPod touch.

The Shio Ramen was really good, very similar to Sansotei’s except no gooey egg! 😦 The bowl came steamy and hot. The bowl looked rather small but I left with a happy stomach! The soup was just right, a bit on the creamier side for shio which means salty; it was similar to the Sansotei’s Tonkotsu Ramen with porkbone base.
The ramen was al dente and yellow… which means egg and less flour?
The pork belly was delicious and fattening as expected. The imitation crab meat was too thinly sliced! The red nut looking thing at the top tasted like a crunchy plum nut…not too sure what it was but it definitely brought out some flavour of the ramen itself.

Overall, I liked it! Very similar to Sansotei. I’m indifferent with both. I’ll be back to try their spicy ramen, combos and ultimate their Tokusen Toroniku Ramen – their signature ramen which servers their toppings separately. Toroniku cha-shu is simmered pork cheek meat. According to their website, “pork cheek meat is very rare and only 200-300g can be taken from each pig. It has a very rich flavour and it is tender like fatty tuna“.  My friend who ordered this over the weekend said it was less fattening and the broth was a lot less oilier compared to the shio ramen! These will be my next try dishES!!

Santouka Ramen
91 Dundas St East Toronto
Toronto, ON M5B1E1
(647) 748-1717
http://www.santouka.co.jp/en/index.html 

Santouka Ramen on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “Santouka Ramen

  1. Pingback: Santouka again « Smiling Mango

  2. Pingback: Thought it was end of the world? Well, Hello 2013! « Smiling Mango

  3. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit
    and sources back to your site? My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and
    my users would truly benefit from a lot of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

