Starfish Oyster Bed & Grill


For Winterlicious this year, I have decided to only go to, Starfish Oyster Bed & Grill (@StarfishOyster), just because I have been to way too many licious meals in the past and I think I’ve had better meals and experiences when it’s non-licious days. After reading a few summerlicious’ post on Starfish, I just can’t resist to try.

On a side note, American Express (@AmexCanada) was running a few stimulation campaigns with winterlicious this year…1.) if you use their AMEX card with 3 different restaurants (+$50 per transaction), they’ll give a credit of $20, more details here or here. I have participated in this campaign last summerlicious and did receive my credit! =D  2.) Their #DinewithAmex instagram contest, details here.  <- This is both Toronto and Vancouver AND you don’t have to take pictures of a winterlicious meal in order to participate, just use their hastag #DinewithAmex.

Back on track…I went for Starfish’s $20 lunch menu (lunch portions as they have stated).

Green Gables P.E.I. Oysters
Can’t leave this place without trying an oyster! These green gables PEI oysters were really fresh! I also like it when they leave some sea water with the oyster to bring out the “nature” of their taste. Quite creamy. Unfortunately, there were a few chipped shells in my oysters but I can deal with it.

Filet of NS Seabream, served with a winter squash and brown butter puree, roasted brussels sprouts, house smoked bacon, and toasted pumpkinseeds
– also very fresh and well-prepared. I loved the smoked bacon and pumpkin seeds on the side to add more flavour and texture to the dish.

Starfish’s famous sticky toffee pudding

Roasted pear and ginger tartlette, with creme fraiche ice cream, and candied ginger.
I loved the candied ginger in the icecream, adds a bit of a kick to the soft ice cream. This dish was deliciously crafted!

Overall, great experience, great portions and excellent food for just $26 (including gratuity and tips)! I would definitely come back again for an oyster night or another licious time with friends. Definitely a great deal especially for lunch!
It looks like they normally offer prix fix menus for $25 too (see their site for details).




STARFISH OYSTER BED & GRILL
100 Adelaide Street East
Toronto, M5C 1K9
416-366-7827 (STAR)
http://www.starfishoysterbed.com 

Starfish on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “Starfish Oyster Bed & Grill

Leave a Reply

