Ryu’s Noodle Bar

ryu's noodle bar
Another raman restaurant opened up on Baldwin St – Ryu’s Noodle Bar (@RYUs_Noodle_bar), that’s braved enough to be opened close to Kinton Ramen and a bunch of other Japanese restaurants.

ryu's noodle bar
Ryu’s Noodle Bar is a cute little place just in between Kinton and Kekou Gelato (place for dessert after! my post about it coming up!). It has a few small tables, some patio seats and two long communal tables in the middle. I arrived just right before noon to make sure I have a seat and I did with only 2 tables full. But as I finished my ramen, the restaurant started to fill up (around 12:30ish).
ryu's noodle bar menu

While flipping through the menu, I noticed Ryu had a lot of Chinese fusion where they offered a house special XO sauce – that’s usually what Chinese put into their dishes and Ryu even offered ma po tofu rice or congee. Interesting!
ryu's noodle bar ramen
Ryu’s offered the typical shio, shoyu, miso and spicy ramens.

I selected the Shio Ramen with the house special XO sauce (pick 1 ramen and 1 sauce/oil). Here are the other choices of sauces/oil:

  • Garlic & Shallot oil
  • seasoned house spicy oil
  • sweet & spicy ginger paste
  • truffle oil (+$0.25)

ryu's noodle bar ramen
ryu's noodle bar ramen
ryu's noodle bar ramen

The menu recommended adding the sauce/oil when you’re half finished with your ramen and luckily I read that online too because the waiter did not bother telling me what to do with the sauces. I would have dumped it all into my ramen or just use it as dipping sauce.

The soup was indeed oilier yet blander than other ramens I’ve had elsewhere… this is similar to what I’ve read from other bloggers. I guess they needed the blander soup to mix with the sauce/oil after. After finishing half the bowl, I mixed in the sauce, the soup then tasted better and stronger. I guess the choice of sauce/oil is the main difference compared to other ramen stores.
The noodles were definitely al-dente and didn’t have the alkaline taste! I thought the cha-siu/ pork belly was a healthier type? I didn’t have too much fat in mine nor was it grilled too heavily as compared to Kinton. Everyone has a difference preference, I definitely like my pork belly meatier and fatter. :p
In terms of the other stuff in the bowl, I didn’t have too much…didn’t have an egg, seaweed or corn which would have been nice.

While paying for the cheque, I was offered a stamp card where if you have your 3rd bowl or 9th, you’ll get an additional free sauce, 6th bowl would add a free topping , and a free ramen on your 12th bowl.

Verdict – I’m not a huge fan of the soup or the pork belly but that’s my personal preference. Would come back to try the spicy ramens. Cheers!

Ryu’s Noodle Bar
33 Baldwin Street Toronto, ON M5T1L3
(647) 344-9306
http://www.ryusnoodlebar.com/

Ryus Noodle Bar on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Ryu’s Noodle Bar

  1. My friend just told me about your blog and also “Cooking With Mr. C.” on Facebook. (also a blog) I just “Liked” his Facebook page and came to see your site. I love when people share blogs with each other. Denise

Leave a Reply

